4link geometry

Jeremyfc1

ok In a perfect world i.e. No oil pan no steering issues (full hydro). No hanging accessory drives. What style of link suspension would you build. My chassis I am using for my electric buggy was built before I got it. The previous owner mocked up some new upper links as the old ones hit the oil pan. I'm looking to reuse the original link location but if I'm ordering links and playing with it already maybe I'll change it up. As it currently stands I'm not sure the front driveshaft will clear the upper link. And I have to get everything mounted before I have a shaft made and it would suck if the driveshaft interferes with the upper link

Pic is before I went to dual cases and did away with the trans. But shows the temp upper link location

Attachments

• image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    155 KB · Views: 347
Tcase front output has moved up 10". It is 2" behind the boxed upper link mount you can see in the pic as this is my first time playing with links should I move the upper links somewhere else. Or try the original location

Start by reading this thread.

Link Suspension Basics

Then download a copy of the 4 link calculator. There are a few floating around.

Post your finding and which calculator you used. Also post exactly what info you enter, so that we can enter in your exact link locations and try to help.

50-80% antisquat(AS). Try to keep it consistent through travel. Try to avoid increase in AS through droop.

Getting this close will result in upper being around 70% of upper length.

Disclaimer: this will result in the pinion rotating down through droop.

You must compromise pinion change with AS change through travel.

Total travel will be set by driveline style and length and u joint misalignment capacity.

Try to get your roll center height as high as possible or as close to cog height.