Gear gurus assemble

skyhighZJ

Thanks for your taxes
A buddy of mine is putting 4.56 R&P in his 2018 Ram 1500 4x4. He has everything setup with a good pattern. He went to assemble everything with the new bearings and when he pulls the pinion in to put the yoke on and starts the pinion nut the pinion seems to be frozen in place and won’t spin. If he takes the yoke off it still won’t spin until he gives the pinion a very light tap with the brass hammer then it spins smooth and free with no catching. Not sure what was happening he called me but I’m no gear expert. He has setup a few axles with good results but this one has him stumped. He is using all Yukon parts to include a full install kit. Any help would be great thanks.

@Jody Treadway

If I had to take a wild guess I'd say the pinion bearing races are not full seated putting the bearings in a bind.

I'd assume one of the races isn't seated fully in the housing or the inner bearing isn't pressed all the way down the pinion shaft.
Sometimes the new bearing and race will be the same dimensionally, but not the same if interchanged. In other words, the new bearing won't properly run in the old race and vice versa. That's why you always replace the bearing and race as a pair.

I will relay this to him. He is at home now but will be back at it in the morning. He is using the auto shop on post at Ft. Benning where he is stationed.

Did he install the crush sleeve or pinion preload shims? Kinda sounds like there is nothing keeping the bearings separated, and all the nut torque is going into the bearing contact and manifesting as friction.

Ever had that one error that taught you a very valuable lesson?
Jeep JK 30/44 both use an outer pinion bearing with the same inside diameter.
I was regearing a JK a few years ago and either the outer bearing was mispackaged or I erroneously grabbed the 30 bearing in place of the 44 bearing