Handling sway/fishtailing

BoltOnJohn

Ok, let me open a can of worms.

I have ZERO experience hauling a vehicle on a dolly or a trailer so I'm looking to learn from other's experiences.

I do have a fair amount of experience towing boats. Including hauling an oversized boat with an undersized truck from Maine to Florida. Plus hauling overloaded single axle utility trailers at times.

What's worked for me when the ever-increasing sway kicked in was to slow down. Sway seems speed related. Sway that is sufficiently dampened and goes away after a second on it's own at 45mph can be out of control and try to take over at 55mph. So with this "fact" in mind, I've always responed to sway by removing my foot from the gas and holding the steering wheel straight. i.e. no radical braking or accelerating or steering corrections.

I've read umpteen times on the internet that you should hit the gas to correct sway. This just doesn't sound right to me. You're adding more speed to a problem that is exasperated by speed. I've also read that you should manually activate the trailer brakes. That makes a lot more sense to me.

Your thoughts?

Over the past 6 years i have had approx. 250,000 miles of towing experience with mainly two different trucks. I have pulled loads weighing as much as 25,000 lbs including the trailer weight on a fairly regular basis. All this was done with 3/4 ton 4x4s. I realize towing with a dolly is different. I have to agree with you about letting off of the throttle and not making any drastic steering inputs. On a trailer, sway is caused by not enough tongue weigth. This is not a huge problem at low speeds, but as speeds rise the sway will become more violent. I can say that i have been in heavy swaying situations several times and have always let off the gas and held the wheel steady and have never had a problem. I don't care what anyone says, speed makes the sway more violent, there is no doubt about it.