Homemade Flatbed Questions.

mattb6679

Ive recently ran across a 01 F-350 PSD. The PO had already started to build a flatbed on the truck and its welded on pretty good as he was a welder by trade. My Question. You will have to look at the pics. Is the bed to low on the chassis? Its welded directly on to the frame. I only tow a 18ft car hauler it weighs in at 2,500lbs, + a Jeep XJ on the trailer and a couple of atvs in the bed. Im thinking air bags might solve this whole problem. I drove the Jeep up on the back of the bed, I really don't know how to calculate the weight like that. Or how many lbs of tongue rate it would represent. I was planning to use 2X8 for the cover. The level represents where the Flooring would lay. Any Ideas? Or do I even have a problem?
ai38.photobucket.com_albums_e106_Mattb6679_100_1839.jpg

ai38.photobucket.com_albums_e106_Mattb6679_100_1840.jpg

ai38.photobucket.com_albums_e106_Mattb6679_100_1841.jpg

Oh yeah that is way too low. Mine is 2" and I've hit the bed with my tires. I'll be putting a radius in my rails. All that to say you could leave a hole in the wood over where the tier is then put a piece of 1/4" steel diamond plate over the top to give it more movement up. Also is the bed welded to the frame of the truck?

Yep the bed is welded to the truck. Just found out that wont work. im gonna leave it like it is maybe put some wood on it. And save up some money to put a nice bed on it.

I think it might be better if you extend the frame and move the axle back a good bit so the majority of the weight is center above or in front of the rear axle. Also airbags would probably be worth the time and money for extra load capacity.

or just make some "fenders" from some diamond plate and weld in place, then use wood for the rest.

measure between the axle and bump stops = 6" or so, then make sure you have that much and then some (maybe 2" more) of clearance at rest. Those numbers are arbitrary, but you get my point...