I'm a booger welder

Tradarcher

I can't seem to get the hang of this welding thing. Can't get the current or the wire speed right. Any advice from the self taught for the self taught?

what machine are you using?

Lincolin, Miller, Hobart?

what wire, gas, flux core?

Kevin

:nopics:

Seriously, post up... a picture can tell us alot.

Did you reverse the polarity from what it came with? (setup for flux-core)

the mig pak 100, being a 120v unit, are you using it on an extension cord ?

If so, how long? what wire size? For that welder, minimum of 12ga wire for 25 foot max run.

is the cord layed out or nested/rolled up ? Lay any extension cords out, no loops, and not a jumbled mess.

voltage drop can cause you to have some really weird symptoms.

Also, how loaded is the circut you are drawing from ?

And What Rich said, check the polarity of the machine, It'll tell you inside the door how to set it up.

Kevin

No extension cord. I know better. Using a regular 15 amp garage circuit that also has 2 florescent lights on it. Haven't tripped a breaker yet. Seems like I am either blowing through thin metal or splattering pieces of wire.

fresh tip on the gun also? does it feed smoothly, even when you put a little resistance on it? I'm guessing you're running .025 or .030 wire?

I've only been welding for a couple months, on a buddies 220 Mac welder (Miller in disguise). I seem to be picking it up pretty quick, but I attribute a lot of that to the machine!

question... what does an extension cord do that would mess it up? I'm guessing there is some sort of current drop or something, but I've never heard this before.

brent

mbalbritton said:
I've only been welding for a couple months, on a buddies 220 Mac welder (Miller in disguise). I seem to be picking it up pretty quick, but I attribute a lot of that to the machine!