Need to expand my garage and build/buy a storage building

chris

cltdba
I've got a 1 car garage that is semi attached to my home. There is no entrance to the garage from the home, but it has been tied into the roof. I'm sick of doing the skinny dance just to get a wheel off the jeep. I want to expand this garage and put in a concrete floor. However, I'm not good at doing this sort of thing myself, so I'm looking for a contractor who can get the job done. I've also entertained the idea of building a detached 2 bay shop, but I'm not sure what route would be more cost effective. If you know of anyone in the Charlotte area with this sort of expertise, please let me know.

I'd also like to buy/build a 10x12 (or possibly larger) storage building to store parts, lawn equipment, etc. I've looked around at the portable building places and I'm not very impressed with the craftsmanship or the prices. Let me know if you know anyone that does these too.

I contacted 3 contractors. Nobody wanted to build for me. The 3rd contractor suggested that I look at steel buildings. I went with a carport building. It's supposed to go up next week. check out my garage build thread on here.

If my land was even, concrete would have been the only additional expense. The metal buildings are really cheap. I wouldn't hang engines from the roof, but it sounds like you are like me, just want a dry place to work.

No intentions on hanging a motor from it. A cherry picker works just as good. I didn't want to go with a carport/metal building because of longevity and the appearance. They are much cheaper though. Ideally I'd like to extend my garage so that it looks like part of the house. I suppose I just need to find some contractors and get some quotes.

--edit--