Trailer brakes engage when lights turned on?

Discussion in 'Tow Rigs and Trailers' started by Cperry, Sep 7, 2005.

  1. Cperry

    Cperry Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2005
    Location:
    Durham, NC
    I rented an f-150 to tow some junk around while tow rig is fawked.

    Anyway 2005 f-150 with a easy plug in and a relay. So i hook up the brake controller to easy plug wires, and plug relay into fuse box. the easy plug has 5 wires one extra wire is a brown wire that says illumination something and from the diagram is tied to the headlight switch. anyways brake controller worked fine, brakes good, no problems and then as night fall came i turned on the lights and trailer brakes engage. I figured brown wire 5th wire was for a more advanced controller than mine that has a light and diplay and that is a seperate power source for it to come on with lights, but i am guessing i am wrong and this was a couse of my problemo. Anyone know what to do with this wire, or why it was doing it.
     
  2. StudNuts

    StudNuts Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Location:
    Wendell
    I would just disconnect it and retest the trailor brakes, and see if the trailor lights come on as well? Obviously, the brown wire is a hot lead into your controller activating the brakes.
     
  3. Cperry

    Cperry Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2005
    Location:
    Durham, NC
    I did not ever connect it b/c there was nothing to connect it to. unles i ran 2 wires into one on my controller.

    And my lights worked fine.
     
  4. Caver Dave

    Caver Dave Just holdin' it down here in BFV Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Location:
    Hooterville (24171)
    I had double/triple checked my trailer wiring before the jaunt to WindRocks in June. Worked fine on my towrig (Tenkosha Voyager w/ 6pin plug), but when plugged into my bros 2500HD (cheapo Valley w/ factory 7pin "RV" plug run thru Valley adapter)... everything went STOOPID! No trailer brake lights, no trailer brakes, & IIRC, intermittant turns... We switched a wire within the adapter, don't recall the logic, but the instructions said it was a possibility it would need switching.... nothing. Between my bro, myself, & LoMod, we finally figured out the freakin' "Daytime Running Lights" were causing the glitch. Some weird sequence of on/off/on on the light switch turned the DRL off and everything was fine! :mad:

    Maybe not the cure, but a step towards figuring out your issue? :beer:
     
  5. Cperry

    Cperry Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2005
    Location:
    Durham, NC
    That sounds like that could be the issue or something similiar, i am sure someone has dealt with this before.
     

Share This Page