Warn 9.5ti brake issue

LBarr2002

Any winch experts here?

The brake hasn't been working on my warn 9.5ti for a long time. I took it apart and literally poured the brake pieces out of the drum. The snap ring had come off the end. I reassembled the brake assembly and all looked good, so I put it back together. But, the brake still doesn't work. Anybody know how to fix it?

17823-a1fefa5560a8de01fe878856e2eb8fbf.jpg

Subbed for knowledge!
My slightly used 9.5ti (came off a mall crawler) won't pull a greasy string out of a cats ass, so will tear it all down shortly.
IIRC, I ran across a couple of posts regarding the brake when surfing about them...

I'm not a winch expert but it's all fun to learn about. I got curious so I started looking at exploded parts views, etc...

Then I found this, which makes it sound like the internal spring needs to be preloaded while reassembling, rather than just putting the parts back together:
Warn winch HS9500i re-greasing and brake assembly repair - Jeep Wrangler Forum

Sounds simple enough (and sounds plausible that this is the issue), but I'm not the guy putting a brake assembly back together so it's easy for me to armchair-mechanic it.....

Last edited:
I'm not a winch expert but it's all fun to learn about. I got curious so I started looking at exploded parts views, etc...

Then I found this, which makes it sound like the internal spring needs to be preloaded while reassembling, rather than just putting the parts back together:
Warn winch HS9500i re-greasing and brake assembly repair - Jeep Wrangler Forum

Sounds simple enough (and sounds plausible that this is the issue), but I'm not the guy putting a brake assembly back together so it's easy for me to armchair-mechanic it.....
Awesome, I'll give it a try. When I feel like pulling the bumper back off to get the winch out...

I tore it back apart today, saw exactly what the describe about turning it 180 before install, still doesn't work...