Zj>44 Questions!

C.Berry

Bad News
Im attempting to put a 44 front out of a waggy under my zj the question i have is, can i do this without and special tools that a normal garage wouldnt have also i was told that i would have to cut the knuckles off and weld them back on if so why??? Im not a newbie just dunno what im stepping into i suppose any advise would be great!!! :beer:

Unless I'm mistaken, isn't that a passenger side drop on that axle? A ZJ is driver side drop, at least mine is.
Not all were passy drop. Some years were driver's drop. Can't tell you exact specifics though.

Waterdog, if by normal garage, you mean a garage with metal cutting tools and a welder AND someone to weld the control arm and track bar brackets onto the 44, then yes. Normal garage rules apply. I don't think you'll need to cut the knuckles off to set caster. You could probably get away with getting it pretty close (keeping in mind your pinion angle) with adjustable control arms. Oh, don't forget about those pesky 6 lug wheels you'll need to buy to work with that axle and some 5 on 4.5 to 6 lug spacers for the rear.

Not all were passy drop. Some years were driver's drop. Can't tell you exact specifics though.
Waterdog, if by normal garage, you mean a garage with metal cutting tools and a welder AND someone to weld the control arm and track bar brackets onto the 44, then yes. Normal garage rules apply. I don't think you'll need to cut the knuckles off to set caster. You could probably get away with getting it pretty close (keeping in mind your pinion angle) with adjustable control arms. Oh, don't forget about those pesky 6 lug wheels you'll need to buy to work with that axle and some 5 on 4.5 to 6 lug spacers for the rear.
Damn you just made my week.... Caster angle is only thing i didnt know about!!! and yes i mean thats a normal garage!! :beer::beer::beer:

It is driver drop 6 lug and it is NOT the vac D44 either i believe it was off of 84 or 85!!!