ZJ set up?

cranberry

Complete NOOB questions...

OK....so here's the deal. I posted the other day asking about what lift kit you guys suggested for my 97 ZJ. (Thanks for the replies BTW)

I think I have decided on a 4.5 short arm kit with OME springs, quick discos, adjustable arms and 32's. This rig is completely stock with a 4.0L, auto, and a 242 TC. I want to do medium level trail riding/crawling but it has to stay a daily driver.
My question is what other mods/gear do you guys suggest I get? I assume I'll need a trail jack (if thats the correct term) and a winch.

Oh and what the hell are soft 8's?

Here are a few other things you will want to think about, need. You will need an adjustable front track bar to re-center your front axle. You may also want to think about extended brake lines (in the front), but some poeple do get away with just pulling some slack into their stock ones. You will probably also need sway bar extensions front and rear.

A hi-lift type jack is what you are referring to (Hi-Lift is a brand name, but it is now used to describe any off highway use jack). As for a winch, that is an expensive purchase, and not always necessary around here. If I were you I would look into getting some tow points on the front and rear first, and worry about a winch later. Plus as long as you don't wheel alone, a buddy should be able to pull you out of anywhere you would need a winch.

Soft 8's are a model of Cragar wheels (that is what I have on my ZJ)

FWIW, you can run 32's on 3.5 inches of lift, and on short arms, the lower the lift the better the ride, so that might factor into your decision considering it is a DD.

Soft 8's are wheels.
awww.pacerwheels.com_shared_images_wheels_pacer_297b_200.gif

Sounds like a solid plan anything over 4.5" with a ZJ and you will just about need long arms.