3rd broken shock mount in 6 months?

loki_racer

I have a 99 Jeep TJ. My first quest is how in the hell do I determine how much suspension lift it has. It has a Trailmaster sticker on the visor warning that the suspension has been modified, but I don't know how to determine how much lift it has.

Second question. I have broken the shock bar pin on 3 brand new shocks over the past 6 months. I have a feeling it's because I have the wrong length shocks, but I am a noob.

I measured the distance from the shock bump stop to the plate it bumps on to be 6"(6 1/2" if you include the bump stock compression) and the distance from the 2 mounting points for the shock is 20". Can someone link to a shock( maybe at tellico4x4.com or something similiar) that I need to by. Also, should I look at a bar pin eliminiter since it's the bar pin that has broken over and over and not the shock.

Thanks for the help in advance. I am a programmer by day, and an aspiring Jeeper by night.

Also, anyone in the Leland/Southport/Wilmington area hit me up. I haven't found a single wheeling spot around here.

Bar pin eliminators should help since breaking the rear bar pins is pretty common. If it was me I would actually measure the axle at full droop and at full stuff and use that for my measurements for the shocks.

loki_racer said:
"droop" and "stuff". Do I get these by flexing the suspension in the rear? Can I flex the suspension without a rear shock on?

Yes and Yes.

Trailmaster, if I remember correctly only offers a 4" kit for the TJs. I would measure between where the shock bolts up and the eye at the bottom with weight on the suspension. With that measurement I can come very close to letting you know how much lift it has and spec'ing a shock that will work. Bar pin eliminators will help as well.

Let me know if we can help
Andy

The shock mounting points are 20" from each other. Does this help?