4runner frame swap

Farmer_kahnhur

I have 99 4 runner with some frame rust and I'm currently deciding between selling the vehicle or swapping the frame. So far no good bites on the selling option. A few questions regarding the frame swap option though. When looking for a frame replacement, are there other year models that are a direct fit/replacement for a 1999? Also is there anyone who has done a frame swap like this before, and are there any out of the ordinary tips or tricks I should know before starting. Is a lift required? Or just a hoist, cherry picker, and a few jacks? I've never done a frame swap before but I have rebuilt a few transmissions and engines. Just kind of nervous about what I might be getting myself into but again I am mechanically inclined.

I have swapped a cab on a truck before. This is a TON of work. I would only consider this IF

1- you can find a GOOD frame. Then I would pressure wash it and paint the whole thing in a good rust preventative. Make sure you clean the inside of the frame really well. There are a bunch of holes and internal braces that can collect small rocks, dirt, etc.

2- you just really love your truck.

3- you have a shop with a lift and a full assortment of tools. Remember, you will not only be removing the body from the frame (probably the easy part), but the complete drivetrain. The electrical stuff is easy since it is plug and play. All of the fluid lines (fuel, ATF, brake, etc) will need to be removed, replaced, and bled.

I’ve done some tough stuff before, but I don’t think I would want to do this.

8E2AF826-FDE0-4A0C-BEC9-630A593AA098.jpeg
9DC8F727-E2D5-44C7-91B7-189BEFB40F7C.jpeg