4runner woes... help needed

heckyl

After seeing how capable stockish 4runners are, I decided I needed one for my dd, hunting, camping, excursion vehicle. I found an excellent condition 97 sitting on 33's but no lift, and promptly worked out a deal on it. So far I love the vehicle, and had started calling it the go-devil being that I hadn't found anything that it couldn't handle.... this past Sunday morning I however, did find the vehicle's limitations. Ice. Really my fault, not the 4runner, but my ego demands that I displace the blame. That being said, the passenger side tire sits back a couple inches from where it should, and will not turn at all, passenger side front bumper and lower fascia is not looking too good either. I haven't been able to really assess the damage, but I'm reasonably sure every suspension and steering part is thoroughly fucked.

This is where the questions begin; I'm new to Toyotas and I'm a bit overwhelmed with the size of the aftermarket. Where I want to end up is with an extremely capable dd, with bumpers and winch, on 33" tires that I can drive to the trail and then drive home. So to you Toyota gurus, where would you put the beefed up parts vs oem when putting the front suspension back together? What brands give the most for the money and what pitfalls can I avoid by doing this right the first time? I should also say that I'm a piss poor mechanic and will probably be looking for a shop or shade tree mechanic in the wilkes/elkin area to give me a hand in this endeavor. Thanks for any help or suggestions.

Later first generation runners were almost as good as a early XJ in stock form but not quite... I like the second gen designs tho but I’ve been in a 86 runner on 33s and had some hell of a good times! Mechanically you can’t beat a old 22r it’s like a sbc 5.7 I’m no yoter guy tho I’d buy a 95 and sas it on 35s for dd lol If they were bigger!