AN6 High pressure power steering line.

ghost

So I got this line in April. Wheeled Harlan this summer and Gulches a few times. Failed at the swivel by the pump recently. I sent a message to them but have not heard back.

Amazon product ASIN B0BM564GJ7
At lunch today I went to NAPA and they could not make it. Suggested a heavy equipment repair company in Lugoff. So I went over and got a new line made. The fittings look different on the inside. Looks like a flair fitting. It does seal and appears ok but I think its the wrong fitting and will come loose and leak. Do AN fittings slide over an oring and that seals them or are they flared? Is there a typical fitting that would screw onto the AN and seal but not seal right? It's not leaking atm but I have a bad feeling. I'm new to AN fittings and trying to learn.

The only “an” line I know of to handle power steering fluid and psi is one of two.

Teflon tube and high pressure fittings and hydraulic line and fittings.

Normal braided hose and “an” or JIC fittings meant for fuel, oils, transmission etc, won’t like the psi.

Normal AN stuff is a straight thread that has a tapered seat. This taper ensure a seal at the fitting when tightened.

I wouldn't want a swivel hyd fitting unless it's absolutely necessary. A 90 adapter at one end with a hose that has a straight on one end, and the 90 on the other would be more reliable, and cheaper.

Also, I've made hundreds of industrial or heavy truck hyd hoses. They don't have O-rings in them where thay are crimped to the hose. Aluminum AN fittings aren't really the best for steering. When you say it looks like a flair fitting, are you talking about the part of the fitting that makes the seal to pump/ram. Should be a JIC fitting. AN may use a different angle on the interface.