Circular saw

R Q

My 20+ yr old circular saw died a few days ago and I am looking to get a new one. I'm no pro so I don't need a pro saw. Was looking to spend maybe $100-150.00. I don't want one of those aggravating trigger locks if possible. DeWalt had a nice one but HD were all sold out.
While looking I ran across a left-handed saw and although I'm right-handed, it seemed pretty logical to have the blade closer to you so you can see better, especially with my fading, middle aged eyesight.
Give me some recommendations of saw type to buy and about the right vs. left handed thing.

You've nailed it with the left vs. right hand thing. My favorite is the porter cable saws. The one with the brake also has a dust port that either directs it or allows you to attach a vacuum. It comes in both left and right but costs about $160. Like your last saw, I expect it to last you about 20 years.

I have a makita. It does its job well but I wish it had dust collection and a brake.

I also own a makita. You can't go wrong with it. But at my job, we run nothing but Dewalt. They have the brake but no dust collection. I imagine in our line of work, they will last around 10 years, but we abuse them. So the everyday homeowner should be able to get at least 20 years out of it. I have never been a fan of PorterCable, I have run across a couple lemons that blew up.

I have Makita, Dewalt and porter cable( left and right) circular saws. All I ever use is the Makita unless I'm making a left hand bevel cut that requires a left hand saw. The weight and balance, line of sight, durability and price is unbeatable with a Makita. I personally hate cutting with a Dewalt, they are clumsy feeling and the line of site is not very good. The Porter cables are Ok but I can't speak for the durability, don't use it enough to tell. My 2 cents

i got an almost new porter cable at the pawn shop for $60. i'm VERY happy with it.... go check the local pawn shops :)