copper tubing for brake lines?

what's your opinion.

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

BUCKEYE PERFORMANCE INC.

BUCKEYE PERFORMANCE INC.
im totally against using copper for brake lines but i got one in today that another shop used copper tubing on and i just wanted to see what opinion's others had about this before i cause a big stink.
at first i thought it was just an odd color steel but after my magnet didn't stick im sure it's not steel.
ai284.photobucket.com_albums_ll35_novacayne75_Mobile_20Uploads_0823111804a.jpg

Still Learning

Well, when I voted, it was based on what I've been told/understood, all my life. Now I learn, there is a copper-nickel, that seems, superior. Personally, I try to stay away from working on brake lines. Guys like me tend to put shoes on backwards!:rolleyes:

Not to flame you . But I am a ASE master tech my family has been in to vehicles since I was born . I have used copper in a pinch and then replaced it with steel line when I got back home .
Copper is too thin and the flare for copper will split if not dome correctly . this falls under using compression fittings on brake lines as well I have seen both fail . this is the reason I have spent the money and purchased proper flaring equipment . I am also very meticulous and I will not patch a line but replace it from connection to connection . I have walked aout of a shop for wanting me to install a compression fitting on a brake system.
Brake lines should always be fabricated from Bundy tubing having a wall thickness of 0.028" minimum. Brake line pressures can and do exceed 1000 psi. On no account should copper, aluminum, or commercial fuel line be used,
Quoted from this link
http://www.dimebank.com/BrakePlumbing.html

Interesting post.:popcorn: