Ford Big Block with a Jeep t 18

mharrison

I'm planning on putting a big block Ford in my 82 cj. I have a T18 out of an older cj. I know Ford and Jeep used the T 18, but my question is will I have to change the input shaft on my tranny to fit the Ford motor?

I'm no Ford expert, but usually that has nothing to do with the input shaft, since it does not connect to the motor, and more to do with the clutch. I sure you will however have to get a Ford bellhousing for your jeep trans. You will need one that matches your BB as Fords are not all the same.

which big block do you plan to use?

If it's a Jeep T-18, I believe you will have to swap the input. There are several different versions of the Jeep T-18, and parts for them aren't easy to find. Some of the stuff just doesn't exist anymore. It would probably be simpler to find a Ford T-18, since it'll come with the bellhousing and fork and everything already.

If you're looking to make any serious power will that motor, you might want to look into an aftermarket input shaft regardless. Find something a bit stronger.

Thanks for the input. I'm more than likely going to go with the 460. There seem to be a lot of them around in older F250's and F350's. I've been looking for Ford T18s also. I knew I'd have to change the bellhousing. I was reading on Jeeptech.com and the Jeep T18 input shaft is a 1/2 inch longer. But they both are 1 1\16 inch and 10 spline. I may get lucky.

you might find alot more t18's behind a FE block ford (i.e. 360,390,406,410,427,428) A 460 would be a smaller size and fit better.

A Chevy is much easier because all of the bell housings(bolt paterns) are the same. a SBC and a SM420 would be my choice

like shawn said id find a more common ford t-18 and sell off your jeep setup as a complete tranny swap kit for someone.. The difference is in the input shaft length and the bell housing..

tempoffroad said: