Help me diagnose a noise

ShimShim

2001 TJ 4.0L with Auto Trans.
When I shift from reverse to drive, or even when I step on the gas hard from a complete stop, I hear a loud click/clunk from underneath. I can't tell if it's coming from the rear diff or from the transfer case. I don't know if I have loose gears or what. Nothing has been worked on/changed for quite some time. It started a few weeks ago and seems like it may be getting worse. Any ideas?

Thanks for any help.

Brian

In neutral with wheels blocked to keep it from moving. Get under it and move the drive shaft to check u-joints. Check links for wore bushings and or breaks. Check play in rear diff. Check all links and suspension parts.

I'm a newb but I'll chime in anyway. I don't think it's the transfer case or the diff. They are tightly set and I wouldn't expect lound clunks from them under those circumstances. I'd be more likely to expect regular clicks.

I like the u-joint idea from upnover. It's a crazy thought but I wonder if loose ubolts would allow the housing to rotate a little under torque and make a loud clunk.

If it was me I'd get a buddy and hang from the side of the truck while driving in a parking lot (slowly) to help identify the location of the sound. 60 second of standing on a rock slider can save 30 minutes of random looking around.

check the cross member bolts and make sure they are tight.

else, whn load applied rotational forces may cause cross member to slap against frame

Noise problem

Mine does the same but I have a manual trans. If you dont have a SYE, it is probably the drive shaft binding up when you punch the gas and it goes from still to rotating fast. Mine does the same when I go up hills or punch the gas at take offs. I can also feel a knocking noise on the floor when it makes the noise, just wondering if yours is doing the same. The noise won't go away until you install a SYE, which I plan to do on mine asap to fix my clunk noise. Hope this helps.

vanguard said: