how often do you change your oil in 6.0

Bullardbs

I have a 04 f250 with the 6.0 how often do you guys change the oil and what oil do you use? This is my first diesel and its due for the oil change now per the sticker in it.

look yp blackstone labrotoies.
foir ~$20 an oil change they will sample the oil and tell you how often to change it.
Oil is Ford or Chevy.

I use Rotella T, 30W in my 6.0

I change my oil myself. i'm ashamed to say but also proud that in the 100k miles I've owned my truck (right at 200k on it now...), I've changed my oil 3 times. Truck has never needed anything other than brakes and a unit bearing.

per alldata its 5k for hard driving and 7500 for nomal driving so just wanted to see what most of you ran I drive mostly highway and dont tow much if anything

i have 15k on the oil in my cummins, but just bought the oil to change it. Rob makes me feel pretty good about myself :lol:

Speaking as a former Ford Technician, I always recommended that the oil be changed every 5000-6000 miles regardless of light duty or heavy duty usage. We always used Rotella T 15W-40 weight for every diesel oil change we performed. Its what I had my brother run in his 06 F250 with the 6.0. I would also recommend using the factory Ford oil filters. ALL of the after market filters that I ran into were one piece deals, that were poorly constructed. The factory filter is a cap with a replaceable filter element. Somebody out there sells a "washable" filter of some sort, but I would stick with the factory filter. It was an all new engine, with an all new filter. Why not run the filter that the engine designers meant for the engine to use.

ALL of the after market filters that I ran into were one piece deals, that were poorly constructed.

This is actually a great point.