Needed - Reatining Wall - Please Help?

uzj100

Needed - Retaining Wall - Please Help?

Hey guys,

Do you or someone you know do retaining walls? We are working on a project in our backyard and need a reatining wall and 10 to 15 truckloads of dirt brought in. I really do not want to start in the phone book. I would rather have a word of mouth recommendation or someone on this board that actually does this type work. Please contact me.

Thank you in advance,

I recomend building it yourself... go get some 4x4's and stack them together and run carriage bolts through them to hold them together. About every 6-12ft along the wall bolt a 4x4 running perpendicular to the wall back into the bank 4-6ft. pile dirt in and repeat the process. You can find dirt from a lot of local construction places where they need to have dirt hauled off.

A 15ft wall will cost a fortune to have done for you.

I sale retaining wall systems for a living. The 4x4 idea is a sure way to have to redo all of your work over again in a few years, if it doesn't fail before that.

The perp. 4x4's are called "dead men" and unless ran at least as far back as the wall is tall, and incased in #57 stone, that is what you will be if you stand in front of a 15' timber wall, DEAD. Any load or rain will cause that to fail. :confused:

Timber walls are for the extreme poor or dumbasses.

I will pm you to talk further.

I was going to say something like that too. Scarface aint shooting you a line. Retaining walls can be dangerous if not properly done.

doesn't look like he even said how tall the wall needed to be, he just said 10-15 truckloads of dirt.

what makes them more dangerous than these garden stone retaining walls around the edge of shopping center parking lots.

Not trying to start a war but i have seen 4x4 timber walls used successfully in many places. They just used timbers running perpendicular to the wall back into the dirt and covering them with gravel and soil.