Tow rig help

diver552

I have a 18ft 14k equipment trailer that I plan on hauling my Jeep back and forth with among other things but that would likely be as much weight as I would put on it. I lost the transmission and the transfer case on the 2003 Silverado 2500hd on the way from IL to NC recently. Since the repair bill will be fairly high and I’m new to trailering, my question is what else will safely pull this trailer and jeep a possibly across the country at times? It might be cheaper for me to replace than repair. What will work? Suburban? Tahoe? Truck only? Thank you in advance!

Oh and I can’t buy new…and can’t spend a fortune. I just need to know if 1/2 ton or Tahoe/suburban or similar is adequate. Gas vs diesel? I can wrench on gas, diesel I know very little about, but I’m not opposed to it. I really don’t need this much trailer I don’t think but it was free to me so thats what I have. Also this will be more than a tow rig. Will be used for travel possibly. Thanks again

Last edited:
Is your 2500 a 6.0, 8.1 or Duramax? If the truck is in good condition and doesn't have a bunch of other issues/needs then it would probably be wiser/cheaper to fix your truck and keep towing with it.

I personally prefer a 3/4 or 1 ton truck vs a 1/2 ton. Another good option is the 3/4 ton Suburbans, I prefer the 8.1 over the 6.0 unless you get new enough to get the 6L80 vs the 4L80 but the 6.0 is the only available engine when they get to that point.

A truck is a good multi-purpose option that can tow, make a trash or Home Depot trip to load up the bed and is the only option if you ever get a gooseneck camper or trailer.

2500 Suburban is also a great multi-purpose option that is better for hauling more people, has more dry storage, doesn't require weighted tags in NC and can tow basically the same as a similar 2500 truck.