What is the easy/cheap engine swap in a 94 Wrangler

Speed Freak

I know this has probably been covered 1000 times but I am new to this and short on information and horse power. I also know nothing in the wrold of 4x4 is easy or cheap but just humer me and let me know how to get more power for my YJ with out missing the season or breaking the bank. I have a 94 YJ with a 2.5 and ax-5 (grinding going into 3rd gear). I hate the lack of power in 2wd. 4wd seems to be ok but leaving a red light or riding the trails in 2wd is a crap shoot. I love the FI and would like to stay that way. I see guys on the trial that can't keep their rigs running when in a difficult situation and I don't want that. So what do I do V8, V6, 4.0 shoot myself in the head?

Buy the adult model, sell the kids Jeep

Possible upgrades are largely Dependant on how deep your pockets are and how much of it you can do yourself.

IF the 2.5 runs well, you might want to keep it, and go deeper with your gears. CYJKrawler in this board still runs a 2.5 and goes great with one ton's and 7 somethings in the pumpkins. But, it's more or less a trailer queen like mine.

a 4.0 is a good swap, and plentiful. You will need the wiring harness and putor from the donor though.

as mentioned above stroking a 4.0 is a great upgrade, needing a 4.0 to build and a crank and rods from a 4.2(258) gives great power.

a small block Chevy is another way to go, cheap to build, but you will also need another tranny and t-case, but if you find a whole donor rig, it won't be too costly, if you can do some of the work yourself. IF it's a trail only rig add propane and like FI it runs great on the trail.

the possibility's are endless really, if all depends like I said before on how much you can do, and how much you are willing to spend.

Anything you swap with fuel injection you will need the donor computer.