Hoist mounted on ceiling joists

RatLabGuy

You look like a monkey and smell like one too
Looking at adding a hoist to the garage. Short term for lifting and storing the 4runner top against the ceiling, but longer term that will be elsewhere and I'll likely end up using it for lifting "stuff" around the garage. Likely Bronco top. Ideally pulling an engine from the Bronco but I'm unsrure of the weight distrobution.

which leads to the question... how much is a reasonable load, and what is the bst way to brace it?
it's a 60s Ranch w attached garage, joists are only 2x4s, mounting point would be ~16' in from the door and ~6' from wall along the joists if that matter. Attic has purlins and braces.

Can I get away w/ just running a big steel bar across 4 joists? Would it be better to mount it on the purlins so the pull is at an angle and pushes the weight out?

What's the weight of the top? I'm not an engineer, but I wouldn't hesitate to hang the top from the joists if you're spreading the load. My shop is nothing but a metal carport with walls and a door and I hang my CJ top from the metal arches with ratchet straps. I hung from 1 strap with my svelte 250# ass and it held so I figured 4 straps would be fine.

I'm guessing the 4runner top is around 150 lbs. 2 guys can carry it no problem.
I'm not at all worried about that... I mean a grown man can walk across joists.

What I AM worried about is when I get randy and decide to use it to pull an engine ;-). Or to drag a non-running vehicle the last 30' into the garage.

Have you thought about just buying a gantry crane?
yes... but no space to store it. It's just 450 sq ft attached garage.

Oh, I missed the "other stuff" part of that. FWIW, My dad used a 4x4 across maybe 6 trusses to lift a SBC long enough to put in in the bed of a truck. nothing creaked or groaned and felt pretty stable.