Transmission shop recommendations

Vulcan Classic

I have a 2004 LJ with 4.0 and 42RLE tranny113k miles. Throwing codes for TCC ( p0740) both Northpoint CDJ and L& R in Winston say needs rebuild, $2500+!!!

Any other recommended shops? I'm broke and this is my DD so gotta do something

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk - now Free

Call lee at tlc in raleigh he is transman on here great guy and awsome work he is worth the drive

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2

In Winston, check out A&A trans. 727-7533

Steer clear of L&R, my trans didn't last one ride after they rebuilt it and then they wouldn't warranty it.

Last edited:
Been there, done that when I was a tranny tech at the dealer. It is difficult to distinguish between a failed solenoid pack and/or a slipping converter. I would base my repair on the amount of clutch material in the pan. If I found much clutch material at all, I would replace the converter and pump as well as the valve body (the solenoid pack came integral to the VB if I ordered one that way). There are passages in the pump and valve body that can become clogged somewhat easily when the converter "comes apart". Never had an issue when I repaired them that way.

Sounds like a simple repair just not a cheap way out.
If the converter was replaced and his sols are new then the vb could be flushed and then 50/50 chance it will be good.

Buckeye Performance Inc.

Yep. If it were mine, I would roll the dice and disassemble and clean the valve body and/or pump. But if someone is paying me and I don't wanna have to drop the VB for free in case a cleaning didn't fix it, it gets a pump, converter, valve body replacement. You and both know what happens when you try to "help somebody out".

I will throw Warren transmission in Winston. They have been earning my loyalty every year as there rebuilds take abuse.