Trying to get it mostly right the first time: A 5.9 and 46RE swapped Tummy Tucked Daily Driven Jeep TJ

dgoodwin10

The quick backstory: I’ve been into off roading since I was taken on my first trail ride in 2001 and have been hooked ever since. My actual wheeling experience had been limited to web-wheeling and riding shotgun with friends up until I graduated from Auburn in 2016 and bought a clapped out 2004 Yamaha Rhino with a +6" long travel setup. The Rhino was fun, but I’d still always wanted a Jeep and a friend’s 1997 TJ came up for sale in May of 2019 so I jumped on it.

This first post will bring you up to date from over 2 years of ownership and what led me to the build that’s about to start. There’s not too much real ‘tech’ to be had as much of this has been maintenance related and added creature comforts, but there’s a place for those things as well.

Spoiler Alert: Just so I don’t lose anyone right off the bat, the Rhino has been sold and there is a literal pallet full of parts and a 5.9L Magnum waiting to go onto the TJ as I’m typing this. But first, the history of my TJ:

I drove to Carrolton, GA with an empty trailer and pocket full of cash to pick the Jeep up in May of 2019. The Jeep was a 132k mile 97 TJ SE with the 2.5L and 5 speed. The PO had owned the Jeep since 2004 and had been mainly used as a grocery getter and hunting rig. The only modifications it had was 31x10.50 Kenda Klever MTs, 2.5" RC lift and a 3" body lift. Overall it was a pretty clean rust free TJ that needed some TLC. Here it is the day we brought it home:

01e49fa2c069f8b3431953826213538c4bb92fa3d7.jpg

015e8822cccc81d4ab447c4d7a696dc6990876abad.jpg

01dd46d9c26e652a66022f58850cc2c90b0cbb80f3.jpg

01720a737611ea0a4421f47bf21f98aadef33742de.jpg

I originally intended for this to be a reliable stock-ish daily driver and mild weekend toy. In my pursuit of that, the following has been done to the Jeep:

• ZJ rear disc brake upgrade to replace inoperable rear drums.