Uwharrie trails for mostly stock jeep.

FSUJeep

Can anyone advise which trails at Uwharrie are best avoided stock vehicles? I have heard avoid the ones that start with D. I have also heard avoid the ones that end in L. Just looking for some clarification from folks that go there frequently. I would also like to tag along with someone on a ride sometime. I am new to the are and don't know anyone to ride with here yet.

It really depends on how comfortable you are off road and also what "mostly stock" means to you. I have seen people in stock vehicles do really well out there and on other trails just because they are experienced and pick their lines wells. I have seen people with built rigs that have no clue what they are doing just destroy their stuff. If you are a beginner, start with trails like Falls Dam, Wolves Den, and maybe even Rocky Mountain Loop if you feel comfortable after the first two. Staying away from the "D" trails as a beginner is probably a good idea. As far as finding someone to ride with, if you can't find someone here, just go to the Eldorado Outpost and ask one of any of the groups gearing up to hit the trails if you can tag along with them. Most are more than willing to allow a newbie to follow them and most will take good care of you out there.

It really depends on how comfortable you are off road and also what "mostly stock" means to you. I have seen people in stock vehicles do really well out there and on other trails just because they are experienced and pick their lines wells. I

This. A stock TJ can run every trail at URE when it's dry. It all comes down to the driver. If you're new and don't know WTF you're doing, avoid Daniel, Dickie Bell, and probably the hill climb on the Saw Mill side of Rocky Mt (or run it downhill). That bit is harder than anything on Dutch John.