Why do jobs that don't benefit from a college degree require a college degree?

jeepinmatt

Not a very good
Branching off from the psychology thread. I have an engineering degree. I never use it in my job. @CLRracer mentioned you had to have a degree to be a firefighter at many places. Why? Seems really dumb to me.

Wasn't this because of Biden?

How many of the job descriptions are requirements vs nice to have? I agree it's pretty dumb for some things. Even in jobs you might be qualified they create a laundry list of requirements that nobody actually has. I know an old school way of thinking was the degree shows that you can accomplish a long term task.

Most of the manual labor jobs. Construction and Automotive don't require school of any kind. You can learn on the job. I did survey without and degree. Trash pickup pays well but most don't want to do it.

My experience is that most jobs requiring a degree want it to show your willingness to put in effort.

Employers want degrees for the same reason that some have a hard-on for anyone with military service, it shows commitment to something and ability to see things through. Nothing against people who went to college, or veterans of any branch, but I've met a lot of educated idiots, and worthless wastes of VA benefits.