Best diesel tow rig

Bruiser95

I'm looking to get a diesel truck to haul my off road rig. Not sure whether to look for a Ford, Chevy, or Dodge. It will also be my daily driver. Something used but not very old. What's everyone's opinion? Best fuel mileage, towing, ect.

I've seen this several places, but you want a Dodge engine (Cummins) with a Chevy trans (Allison), in a Ford cab :D.

This is like asking what's the best tires....

My first instinct is to claim not enough info; do you want 2wd/4wd, auto/manual, what cab/bed configuration, what type of trailer do you have?

But then the sensible side of me wins over.....

Speaking as a diesel tech, working in a Ford/Chrysler dual dealership setting, stay away from emissions controlled trucks unless you plan on buying a truck with a warranty. The newest ford trucks are pretty much impossible to delete. Even the 6.4 trucks require a tune of some sort to run deleted, and I've been chasing the results of running a "delete" tune for 6 months on one daily driver.

Don't get me wrong, the Ford 6.7 and international 6.4 have crap-tons (technical jargon I'm sorry) of power, the emissions systems are costly to replace. It was quoted at 3,500-5,000 to return the one problem truck back to stock. A 6.7 requires total fuel system replacement (except for the tank) if the tank is contaminated with water, gas, or DEF. That is also in the $5,000 range.

The dodge trucks have a Cummins, but I'd stay pre 2010 and even then the rest of the truck just seems to lack in overall quality, comfort, and durability. The best shot for dodge would be a pre 2002 truck, best money on a 12 valve with a manual (the autos are junk) but expect to pay through every orifice of your body to achieve that.