Dirt Bike recommendations

rabb11d

I am looking to pick up a dirt bike for some trail riding with the kids, 7 and 8. (zero track time for me, too old for that junk)
I have some experience on dirt bikes but spent most of my life on 4 wheels.
Had a yamaha 426 and a kx250 in the past but they were not the ideal bikes for getting through the woods.
I am currently thinking about a honda 250x or ktm 300 xcw\exc. Most of what fits my price range is late 2000's ($3000)
What say you?

Also if anyone has anything for sale let me know!

I would love to find an early 2000's KDX 200 for mild trail foolery.

I would love to find an early 2000's KDX 200 for mild trail foolery.
Hey, guess what my dad has under my shed that needs to be sold…

Putting around behind the kids, 4t. TTR125, CRF150F or similar “trail” four strokes. Even the old KDX referenced above, while an awesome trail bike, would need to be ridden harder than putting around behind the kids to stay cleaned out.

They are awesome. Modern 300 2t are my favorite. I have a 300 beta. But for putting around behind kids there are better choices.

But yolo!
I'm torn. I will not be happy in the air cooled turd dept. I sold my trx450 atv last year because I can't ride it easy. I have respect for dirt bikes but still need some power. I do know that yamaha 426 is not the correct answer!

Putting around behind the kids, 4t. TTR125, CRF150F or similar “trail” four strokes. Even the old KDX referenced above, while an awesome trail bike, would need to be ridden harder than putting around behind the kids to stay cleaned out.
I'm not sure how much putting we will be doing, my 8 year old is ripping the ttr110 around like a mad man. I need to get something so I can get them in the woods and not on a dern track.

I'm not sure how much putting we will be doing, my 8 year old is ripping the ttr110 around like a mad man. I need to get something so I can get them in the woods and not on a dern track.