Engineering question

Tacoma747

So I am no engineer, and this will not be permitted so it doesn't really need to be engineered, but I am putting two 40' containers at my land with a roof over the top of them. I found some 2' tall 48' long steel trusses. For you guys that might be structural engineers, does this look like it would be sufficient? I will have to weld pockets for the purlins to the tops of the trusses, that or attach the roofing metal horizontally and don't have purlins, but that obviously makes rain/snow not come off as easily. The drawing is obviously not to scale, but the upper container will likely sit 5+ feet higher than the bottom container. The span between the containers will be 28-30 feet, and I am hoping to do a clear span. The containers will be anchored to 2'x2'x6' concrete blocks at each corner. They are 40' containers and I can get 6 trusses, so they would be spaced every 8ft.

Thanks for any advice.

IMG_20211008_181716090.jpg

I'm no structural engineer, but I'd run em like that all day long. I was considering something similar for a shed with some 53ft trusses I saw the other day. Ideally your truss supports should hit where the diagonal braces meet the bottom so you aren't point loading that unsupported area. You've shortened the total span so much that most of the engineery stuff doesn't matter.

Last edited:
How many trusses do you have? I'd think you'd need 8 or 10 if you were going to have them close enough to screw the metal roofing to. I'd go with perlins. I have a cheap carport shelter with the roof run horizontal and it holds leaves and pine straw like nobody's business.

Good point. With 8ft between trusses that wouldn't be close enough to run horizontal roof. Purlins it is.

Anyone know a good source or idea for attaching the purlins? I guess I am going to have to get a cheap 120v welder and take a generator up there to do the welding.