Impact wrenches

RatLabGuy

You look like a monkey and smell like one too
Didn't want to clog up the other thread with this.

Lots of deals on impacts out there. Trying to decide on the best direction for an upgrade.
I've been using an old air-driven I-R impact wrench for years. It's heavy and not nearly as torquey as I need sometimes. Dealing with the air line is a PITA sometimes.

A really high ft-lb cordless impact like the Milwaukee 2763 M18 sounds awesome. But I do wonder if a more practical route would be to get something smaller, lighter, more comfy for using most of the time would be more practical, and then get a cheaper air-driven "big boy" for the rare cases needing >200 lbs?

If so, suggestions on that bigger one?

... keeping in mind I'm just a hobbyist.

for a cordless I have the SnapOn 1/2" and yes ut was pricey, but 6 years old, batteries still hold charge good as new. More power than all but my best air impact.
But its heavy. No doubt. It also isnt balanced great.

For cheap air impacts the earthquake works fine.

But let me instead question your thinking. How many times can you use an impact? And in those cases how many times is it so tight you need the "big boy" power"
Heck even a 3/4" impact isnt going to stand up to moderate strength and a cheater pipe. The few times I cant break something lose with the snap on gun, I grab a breaker bar and some blaster...break it loose and then finish it off with the gun.

for a cordless I have the SnapOn 1/2" and yes ut was pricey, but 6 years old, batteries still hold charge good as new. More power than all but my best air impact.
But its heavy. No doubt. It also isnt balanced great.

For cheap air impacts the earthquake works fine.

But let me instead question your thinking. How many times can you use an impact? And in those cases how many times is it so tight you need the "big boy" power"