Residential HVAC Question

JSJJ388

GREEN GREMLIN
With me being home from work, talk of us working remotely a lot even after the Kung Flu is over, and my wife finally realizing that the tub we put down here a year ago is pretty nice, we are using our basement a lot more lately. Its unfinished and until now has only housed my reloading stuff and our food stores. The thingermabob that blows air around the house sits down here, but there are no vents. What would be the effects of me adding a vent down here? Could I even do that without substantial rework and expense? It hovers around 60 (perfect for me) down here most of the time, and we keep the house set on 67 so its not a huge gap if that makes a difference. I know next to nothing about HVAC, and was thinking of just cutting a hole in a duct and putting a vent in. Bad idea?

Are you wanting to warm it up? All the time or just during winter months?

I am not a HVAC expert, but you really need return air flow if you put a vent in. The circulation of the air is what conditions the space.

Another option could be to get a dehumidifer.

Would like to keep it at least 65 year round.

Also not sure if its relevant, but there is no basement access from inside the house. Have to go out and around to an exterior door.

Also not sure if its relevant, but there is no basement access from inside the house. Have to go out and around to an exterior door.

If you cut a hole and supply air to the basement without a return, then the 1st floor will be negatively pressured. That’s bad.

If you are thinking of cutting holes in supply and return to condition the basement, that will be a huge increased load on the HVAC system, and reduction of 1st floor performance.

The basement temp sounds like it closely follows the typical ground temp.

Why not install a ductless mini split just to serve the basement?