Gone Postal : Mail Jeep Build

95yjjeep

Okay guys. I just finished up my YJ build and now I'm bored with nothing to do. So what I found was an old Postal Jeep - '82 DJ-5 Mail Jeep in okay condition. Runs but tranny is bad. So here is my plan. I photoshoped what I want the jeep to look like. My inspiration is the build that Chris at Marsfab did called "Mild CJ5 Build". If you haven't seen it you should check it out! http://nc4x4.com/forums/showthread.php?t=94675

My mockup...I am a graphic designer so I had to see what it would look like. I like drawing pretty pictures. i hijacked marsfab's cj5 with their cool jeep wall art.
ai1024.photobucket.com_albums_y309_95builtjeep_mail_jeep_photoshop1.jpg

My goal: #1 to build a fun weekend wheeler that seats 2 and can be beaten up with little worry. #2
build it CHEAP! but still dependable.

Plan is to use a Jeep Wrangler 6cylinder, 5spd and NP231 transfer case with all the computer and wiring from whatever model I find (anyone got one they wana sell cheap?)
::Update:: 9/10/2012: 2001 LS series 5.3L Cast Iron Chevy V8, SM465 granny 4spd & Jeep NP231 t-case with heavy duty chain, SYE and 2wd Tera low kit

axles & gearing:
the owner is throwing in a full width ford 9" rear so that is what the rear will consist of. i'll add a spool or cheap locker and run 5.38s probably
front axle: i picked up a hp44 full width front and will add a cheap locker and 5.38s.
::Update:: 10/22/2013: Ford 9" rear with yukon grizzly locker and 4.56 gears, HP Ford Dana 44 with 4.56s & Auburn Pro LSD Diff Front.

suspension:
front: SOA with yj springs, shackle reversal, marsfab styled shackle reversal, stretched frame to get the extra wheelbase and space to mount the steering box.
rear: SOA using XJ rear springs with shackles attached to custom built rear bumper
::Update:: 10/22/2013: Rear suspension reworked. Outboarded rear spring hangers, MarsFab Custom Boomerang Shackles, YJ Leaf springs, traction bar.

steering: