Throwing in the towel - my MarsFab buggy build

untchabl

On the rocks
Some of you may have seen my build thread on the Sami buggy I've been building for over 3 years. Well, I threw in the towel and gave up on it.

The build made good progress when it was at @DirkaDirka875 shop getting the chassis built and into a roller. Once I got it back home, the snail's pace started. I gained, lost, gained and lost motivation as time went on. I'm a decent mechanic but I'm not a fabricator. I spent hours/days to make minutes worth of progress.

After years of not wheeling, I honestly got fed up and was over the build process. Offered to pay a couple buddies to finish it for me but they didn't have the free time due to work/family commitments. So I reached out to Chris at @MarsFab and spent a few hours at his shop discussing what I wanted.

I stripped down my Sami buggy and took Chris a large trailer load of parts so he could get started. The plan is for him to build it out to a fully plumbed roller. I'll bring it home and tear it down for paint then reassemble it. Still undecided on the wiring, may try to get a few buddies together for a weekend or may just take it back to Chris.

This is where it currently sits.

IMG_20210517_105630.jpg

Subscribed. This will be fun.
BTW
Wiring is @MarsFab 's favorite part!

Using most of the parts from the Sami buggy but I did change/upgrade a few things.

2-seater
106-108 ish wheelbase
Suzuki 2.0L, auto trans, Tracker to Toyota t-case doubler
Trail Gear Tacoma width front axle
IFS rear axle
39.5 sticky Iroks on KMC beadlocks
4-link front and rear
Air shocks (for now at least)
PRP UTV high back seats & harnesses

PXL_20210415_223240506.jpg
PXL_20210410_165335543.jpg
IMG_20190913_174119.jpg

Ah I see now! From the table picture it looked like half of a v8!

Looking forward to this build. Not going to lie I am going to miss the Sami, wanted to see it all done and on the trails.

Congrats man. Happy to see you getting exactly what you want!