Finally a Diesel.. CTD, W250.. Dyno'ed again

Discussion in 'Tow Rigs and Trailers' started by BRUISER, Jan 16, 2006.

  1. yager

    yager Better Faster Stronger

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    Wake Forest, NC
    Don't lie ! John did all the work !
     
  2. BRUISER

    BRUISER silent.. but deadly Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    Raleigh

    Hey I said "We" :)
     
  3. BRUISER

    BRUISER silent.. but deadly Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    Raleigh
    WOW is all I can SAY..

    Well myself and some freinds loaded up and headed out to PA from NC for the weekend..

    I had my 1st Gen with my bed camper, my trailer and jeep on back..

    I averaged 12.9 MPG on the trip..
    even at 70mph on hills never got about 1150 degrees on Pyro..
    truck always had plenty of power to pass people if needed..

    I am just amazed at the power I had with only a few upgrades..

    oh and the New Mirrors were AWESOME I could see the entire road with no issues at all..

    Click on pic to see full size

    [​IMG]
     
  4. Ridgerunner

    Ridgerunner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    Sounds good. I can not wait to get mine back on the road.
     
  5. blazinchuck

    blazinchuck Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Location:
    Charleston,SC
    Nice job BRUISER! My buddy has a 91 like yours...been fun making easy mods into great power. I like what you've been doing with yours...keep up the good work!!!:gitrdun:
     
  6. BRUISER

    BRUISER silent.. but deadly Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    Raleigh
    Well Since I bought my truck I have had Electrical issues with my truck..

    Odometer did not work, tach did not work, a/c control did not work, heater fan did not work, the list went on and on..

    For the most part I have fixed everything except the A/C.

    So last weekend I was doing a bunch of yard work and I needed to run tolowes well the wife wanted to ride along so I got ready to get into the truck and she said " HECK NO is it 95 outside".. so we took her Grand Cherokee.

    So it got me thinking my wife is due in 4 months maybe I should try to get the A/C working..



    So that leads us into this "How To" topic.

    SAFETY FIRST!

    - Have a known good fire extinguisher within sight.
    - Have a clean, uncluttered work area.
    - Have good lighting.

    If you burn down your truck or kill your A/C compressor I am not liable this is only a reference guide for those of us that have tried everything...

    items you wil need:
    - electrical wire
    - toggle switch
    - electrical end connectors.
    - wire butt connectors
    - wire cutters
     
  7. BRUISER

    BRUISER silent.. but deadly Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    Raleigh
    You will be surprised how easy this really is..

    Step 1:
    take some electrical wire and strip the ends..
    then clip on some roach clips so you are making mini jumper cables.
    then attach one side to battery positive side
    and stick a paper clip in other side with one side of paper clip sticking out to a point.
    remember this is now a HOT wire


    step 2:
    locate the plug in the picture below.
    you are looking for the blue wire.
    now stick the paper clip into the blue wire hole and see if your compressor clicks.
    If it clicks that means your compressor clutch is good.
    Do Not leave power to clutch
    make sure you pull out the paper clip

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    If the clutch clicked the proceed on.. if not then stop and go see a professional A/C guy.
     
  8. BRUISER

    BRUISER silent.. but deadly Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    Raleigh
    Step 3:
    Before you go any further you need to make sure your A/C is charged.. if it has no Freon in it you will burn up your Compressor..

    So how do you do this?
    1. go to professional
    2. go to auto parts store and buy cheap "do it yourself" kit.
    3. after you do the rest of the wiring.. you must connect the "do it yourself" kit before you turn on the system.


    Step 4:
    Follow the wiring harness up until you get to a good open spot that you can pull all the wires out and find the BLUE wire again..

    You will need to cut this wire and splice in a NEW wire
    see pic:

    [​IMG]


    step 5:
    on the firewall you will see the low side A/C relay.. if you do not want to burn up your compressor you need to connect to this.
    This lets the compressor cycle on and off.

    You will connect the wire that you spliced into the blue wire to one side.

    The other side will go inside the cab to a toggle switch.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  9. BRUISER

    BRUISER silent.. but deadly Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    Raleigh
    Step 6:
    Run the wire into the cab and connect it to the power side of the toggle switch
    then run another wire from the AUX power side of the toggle switch to Power.. preferably ignition switch so when you turn off truck you do not forget to turn off toggle switch

    My switches are just temporary because I wanted to make sure this is gonna work

    [​IMG]

    So now you have it all connected.. what is next?

    you start your truck and turn on A/C switch you just installed and turn the fan on high, then go back to the "do it yourself" kit that you hooked the the A/C lines.. it is best to shake the can while it is filling.. [just follow the directions]

    once the system is full you should start to feel cool air inside the cab



    So did it work??

    HECK YA

    I have full A/C and it fells great..

    Hope this helps some since is getting pretty HOT in most states.
     
  10. yager

    yager Better Faster Stronger

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    Wake Forest, NC
    nice job ken ! Looks great !
     
  11. Rich

    Rich Asshole at large

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    Central PA
    Having gone through this myself, a few observations from mine.

    Don't shake the can. You can introduce liquid into the line.

    If your A/C doens't have much (or any) of a charge, you're just going to have to go back in later when the moisture in the system tears things up.. It's really best to take it in, let the shop pull a vacuum, and charge it from there...

    And, the fill kit with the pressure gauge is 10x better than without.
     
  12. BRUISER

    BRUISER silent.. but deadly Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    Raleigh

    Yes that is correct gauges are best.. that is what I used when doing mine.. [shh a buddy has a set.. and NO you can not borrow them]
     
  13. etjeep

    etjeep New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    Location:
    Cary, NC
    No doubt about the vacuum for moisture removal. Also semi-good for leak detection (gross) before you drop cash for a refrigerant charge. Not as good as the flame test leak detection if you have a pinhole though. Ask me how I know.

    Sorry I did not read everything Ken. Congrats on papa to be if I did not alread tell you. My mind is going. Looks good.
     
  14. RufusTheRam

    RufusTheRam New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Location:
    Raleigh
    nice. i believe i have a set of hvac controls in my stash should you ever need/want them.
     
  15. BIGWOODY

    BIGWOODY Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Location:
    Thomasville
    One thing I don't see that has to be addressed is the evaporator temp. sensor. It also tells the compressor when to cycle off so it doesn't turn the evaporator into a solid block of ice after running for awhile. Maybe you have done something about it and I'm not seeing it. Judging from the amount of oil around the low pressure switch it looks like the expansion vavle may be leaking also (I think that's what I'm seeing, a block with the lines runnning to it at the firewall).
     
  16. BRUISER

    BRUISER silent.. but deadly Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    Raleigh
    ya to be honest I was told what to do by a A/C guy.. so he said do this, do that and I just did it..

    figured others way want to know how to bypass switch since electrical issues are common on 1st gen.

    but now that you say that I am gonna stop by and ask him about that and see what he says..

    I guess the good news is I only drive about 10 miles a day so the chance of it freezing it not likely for me :)
     
  17. BRUISER

    BRUISER silent.. but deadly Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    Raleigh
  18. bcammons21

    bcammons21 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Location:
    Durham
    Where did you get that thing dyno'd?
    kinda reminds me of carolina auto masters in downtown.
     
  19. BRUISER

    BRUISER silent.. but deadly Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    Raleigh

    Yup that is the Place... Bad news is We broke the Dyno by the end of the day :( oops
     
  20. bcammons21

    bcammons21 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Location:
    Durham
    haha
    yeah i used to hang out there all the time when my buddy mike ellis worked there/ half owned it(4 years or more ago), but i think jeffs a big :poop:head.
    i remember once i was there he was on the dyno with a built motor in a vette(JUST BUILT MOTOR), and took that thing up to almost 1k rpm over redline! oh, ellis was hot bout that!
     
  21. Jp9519

    Jp9519 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Location:
    Greensboro
    Congrat on the new dyno numbers I didnt get there in time to see your dyno but was def some beast of trucks there.
     
  22. Caver Dave

    Caver Dave Just holdin' it down here in BFV Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Location:
    Hooterville (24171)

    I think that was the overall line of thought throughout the day... :rolleyes:

    The tech was OK... just a parrot for Jeff. As stated, the electronics (including the PC) have been sitting in the open... collecting shop filth, for YEARS... and they blamed it on diesel soot! :shaking:

    Granted, there was a TON of "blackness" being deposited, but if it were my junk, it'd either be in a sealed cabinet (w/ proper ventilation) or remotely located FROM THE START!
     
  23. BRUISER

    BRUISER silent.. but deadly Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    Raleigh
    I agree.. I say we go somewhere else.. give our money to someone that is there to help us.. not just for the money
     
  24. NCcummins

    NCcummins NADEAU

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Location:
    Asheville, NC
    BRUISER: You cummins is SWEET.. i have a 2ND gen and love it but I would die to have a first gen as well!
     
  25. bigwaylon

    bigwaylon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2005
    Location:
    Charlotte
    Ken,

    any idea what the boost readings were?

    Greg
     

Share This Page